[PODCAST] At The Moment Podcast #6 [Tim Larsson]

pcasttimThe SIXTH episode of the “At The Moment Podcast” is here! This week our curator is Tim Larsson. Tim put together an emotional, inspirational, and eclectic mix of songs that reflect him and his work. Tim also wrote some very beautiful insight on his reasoning and inspiration behind some of these songs. Do yourself a favor and check it out below!

Check out At The Moment Podcast #6 [Tim Larsson]

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

of Montreal present a darkness that I find inspiring in this song. It is weird and feels like it’s been picked right out from a nightmare of mine. Maskinen (Swedish for “The Machine”) always get me pumped with their dance floor hip hop, I really enjoy the beat and they are very clever with their lyrics, which sadly gets lost in translation. Pengar (Money) got a music video where the duo is dressed in drag, walking around a famous prostitute street, which have gotten a lot of positive response from LGBT groups. Defender Rhythm by Two Fingers (Amon Tobin) has a nice and intense beat. It’s all over the place. I just like it, though it is somewhat repetitive.

 

Jonathan Johansson’s Stockholm is to me a song about desperation, sadness, trust and hope. “Man måste bära sin sorg i armarna, man måste härma de som orkar, de som fortsätter ändå. Ingen annan skulle förstå och ingen annan skulle gå en meter för mig, jag behöver dig”. This line roughly translates to “You have to carry your sadness in your arms, you have to mimic those who copes with it, those who still goes on. No one else would understand and no one else would walk a few feet for me, I need you”.

 

Mew always bring me joy and happiness, pop at it’s finest. No matter in how bad mood I am, Mew puts a smile on my face. They do touch dark themes at times, which blended with hope always feels like a source of inspiration to me. Submotion Orchestra brings us back to the music, the beat. I can’t sit still! And the music along with Ruby’s vocals is so utterly sexy. It doesn’t matter if it’s an upbeat song, a slower song, jazzy or more electronic; I always start day dreaming about life. The same goes for Bonobo, who in this track together with the vocalist Andreya Triana manage to set me in a writer’s mood. I see myself drinking coffe or tea by a large window, looking out at a rainy autumn street, with red and yellow leaves blowing around. Sitting with a notebook. Writing. No particular inspiration on topic or theme, just an inspiration to write.

 

Joan of Arc’s song with a weird title is pretty much me. Broken up into fragments, looping, repeating, honest. Alone. The empty spaces, the echoes, the rambling lyrics… If one song was to describe me, this would be it. It’s not the best song, it’s not my favorite track of all time. But it describes me the best, and my style of writing, I suppose. This song is followed by a song sung in two languages, something I like a lot. I love languages, want to learn more and more, and want to use many languages together to form a whole. Old Beauty / Du Kan Nu Dö (You can now die) ends with a Swedish part tying together the song perfectly, but is lost to those not speaking the language. That is, about 99.8757% of the world’s population. The english part ends with “… You are now prepared to die. You gotta go, You’ve got a goal”, and I’ll translate the Swedish part for you here:

“But you lost the goal. You lost your fight. But something tells me that you’ve given these events time. There’s something here changing and I think I know what it is. Life’s for you no longer tough, for here you stand against it smiling. You can now die”.

 

The following song, Le Gilet Fraternel is yet a Swedish song, which here is shortened from over 9 minutes. The band Suffocate For Fuck Sake use recordings of people talking in their songs, in this case a radop documentary about a person who is never going to be able to sit because of some problem with his back. I like the style, the idea and I find the format interesting, and I find it inspiring in that way. But maybe this song is not that interesting for someone unfamiliar with the language. The song (screaming) is in French.

 

The last song is my all time favorite. It is in Japanese. I won’t talk much about it, because it renders me speechless. The last lines of the lyrics will always stay with me, and always make me feel both sad, happy, hopeful and bittersweet:

終わりが見えたよ家に帰ろう

owari ga mie ta yo, ie ni kaero u

I see the end now. Let’s go home.

 

/Tim